Fabulosity is in the eye of the beholder

19 Feb

Today, I think I’m a rock star.  I’m wearing my new military-inspired jacket, a new vintage-inspired black and gold statement necklace and my favorite black patent leather ballet flats.  I feel great.  I look great.  I spent an hour primping in the mirror this morning because I was just so in awe of the combination.  I’ve convinced myself that I’m a “Dash Doll” because I have perfected the black jacket, white tee, bold statement necklace look that the Kardashian girls and their mom do so well.  I’m basically corporate Rihanna.

Because I’m working it today, I was not at all surprised that a woman outside of the grocery store complimented my jacket.  After all, it’s hot.  Here’s how the conversation went…

Woman: “I like your jacket.”
Me: [insert smug smile here] “Thanks.”
Woman: “Just kidding.  I know that you got new jackets for work.”
Me: [insert look of confusion] “What?”
Woman: “Didn’t the office building employees get new uniforms?”

Uhmmmm…this woman basically called me the help.  I’ll spare you the details of the rest of the conversation.  It involved me putting her in her place while she back pedaled.  Lesson Learned: Fabulosity is all about what looks and feels good to you!  While I was busy thinking that I’m about to chill with Mary J. Blige after work, this woman was about to ask me to get her bags!  For the record, I’m still chilling with Mary and my colleagues have complimented the look!  Fabulosity is in the eye of the beholder.

7 Responses to “Fabulosity is in the eye of the beholder”

  1. Kar* February 19, 2010 at 1:30 PM #

    LOL!!!!!!! I am sure you are fab!

  2. Kay February 19, 2010 at 2:26 PM #

    HIL-ARIOUS!!!!!! That lady obivously was not a fashionista!!!

  3. Alicia February 19, 2010 at 2:31 PM #

    Oh, no! That Ladie clearly knows nothing about fashion!

  4. Kate February 19, 2010 at 2:57 PM #

    What was she wearing? Did you take note?

  5. KandiKim February 19, 2010 at 3:31 PM #

    Clearly she was insane. I actually feel bad for her because I know she payed for that mistake!!

  6. BigPop February 19, 2010 at 8:06 PM #

    I am sure the lady was jealous. Obviously, you have it going on!

    • BigPop February 19, 2010 at 9:59 PM #

      Evidently the lady was unaware that you’re the epitome of fashion elegance! Truly you treated that remark for what it was….untrue!

      NWP

Leave a Reply

